Read what others had to say about Lochside Hostel

Lochside Hostel - LOCH NESS
5.0
Based on 30 reviews
powered by Facebook
Grzegorz Górecki
Grzegorz Górecki
2021-10-21T19:40:33+0000
jesteśmy tu od 3 h ale juz wiemy ze to nie ostatni raz. Miejsce godne polecenia
Mark O'farrel
Mark O'farrel
2021-08-15T20:40:46+0000
absolutely brilliant , and met the best people!!
Chris Turner
Chris Turner
2020-09-03T05:23:08+0000
the lad runni5 the please could not do enough to help us. showed up on a day with no booking and happend to have space.... sorted us out with food . literally could not do enough for us highly recommend this placeread more
Melis Meng
Melis Meng
2019-10-04T09:49:44+0000
👍Friendly staff, amazing atmosphere, backpackers' favourite choice
Colin Umpleby
Colin Umpleby
2019-08-21T21:22:40+0000
Stayed here twice within a few days, different rooms, different staff and different guests, would certainly recommend... any time🙂read more
Sam Campbell
Sam Campbell
2019-05-28T19:28:13+0000
Friendly, clean and comfortable. Free tea and coffee, and hot showers. Also, very usefully, USB power sockets by every... bed.read more
Ju Zobi
Ju Zobi
2019-05-20T12:54:15+0000
Lovely place and so nice staff ! Very calm and view on the loch, perfect for backpackers during GGW !
Yvonne McIntosh
Yvonne McIntosh
2019-05-14T16:07:10+0000
awesome hostel with a cool owner and an amazing manager! keep up the good work guys! 🤩
Angela Stocks
Angela Stocks
2019-04-12T21:24:47+0000
Best hostel on the Great Glen Way by far! Friendly staff, cozy, comfy and views to die for. All in all a definite... pit-stop on The Great Glen Way 👍read more
Luis Carlos Campos Murillo
Luis Carlos Campos Murillo
2019-03-12T09:54:01+0000
Estuve hospedado ahí en octubre del 2017 y este julio 2019 repito indudablemente. Es un lugar especial lleno de... naturaleza, tranquilo y de una calidad humana especial. Definitivamente el lugar ideal para ir desconectar y conocer gente. 100% recomendado.read more
Sarah Hatwell
Sarah Hatwell
2018-09-26T13:21:01+0000
Best hostel ever, friendly, spotlessly clean, well equipped and the location and views are amazing.
Serge Vdovychenko
Serge Vdovychenko
2018-07-13T11:09:13+0000
Lovely hostel in a marvelous spot. Especially liked the staff friendliness and the lobby. We didn't plan to stay there... but it was a very lucky encounter in our journey 🙂 Highly recommended!read more
Beata Zych-Skrzela
Beata Zych-Skrzela
2018-07-09T22:40:03+0000
We just had some short stay there, during travel from North, and we were absolutely delighted! So we'll organised,... charming Hostel in so wonderful spot. Nice and clean, kitchen very nice organised, big but cosy public room with stunning view of Lochness...amazing. And prices really affordable, even for twin room. So I would highly recommend this lovely hostel for stay, and for sure we will be back for longer stay. Beata and Jackread more
Marianne Petit
Marianne Petit
2018-07-05T18:58:30+0000
Emplacement exceptionnel!!! Vue sur le Lochness, chambres agréables, personnel sympathique.
Lucie McGuire
Lucie McGuire
2018-07-03T10:04:54+0000
This was my first hostel experience, and it was amazing! The staff was super friendly and helpful. The common area is... large and very cozy. Great place to meet people and swap travel stories! They have a pool table and plenty of seating. Large kitchen space too. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean. Let's not forget the amazing view of the lake, so gorgeous! Loved waking up to it. We wish we could have stayed longer than one night here! ���P.s. on a side note the breakfast was small, but satisfying and cheap! White bread was on point too ��read more
Makaila Stierlin
Makaila Stierlin
2018-07-03T10:04:10+0000
We had a wonderful stay! The staff is so friendly and accommodating. And the view from the common room and the beach is... to die for! � We played a long and boozy game of cards with another group of backpackers and exchanged stories and recommendations well into the night. Staff provided a budget-friendly breakfast with well-needed coffee � We didn’t want to leave the next morning!read more
Courtney Ann
Courtney Ann
2018-06-25T18:35:14+0000
Tempted to give a terrible rating to keep people away from this amazing find lol. This place was absolutely amazing,... probably the best location and value of all the places on the loch. We had a bonfire and roasted marshmallows and everything. Definitely coming back for a longer stay.read more
Elvira Freyja Breitenbach
Elvira Freyja Breitenbach
2018-05-14T20:17:39+0000
Amazing Place ��
Brian Baxter
Brian Baxter
2017-09-14T15:32:15+0000
Yes great hostel. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Very well priced and the breakfast also excellent value at... £1.50.Rooms comfy with both power and usb to each bed. Best part is the excellent common room with free tea, coffee and hot chocolate available all hours. Very well equipped large kitchen.I don't know about the swimming bit seeing Loch Ness never gets above 5deg c. Also right on Loch Ness with fantastic views up and down the loch.Showers and toilets more than adequate. Free WiFi. The only odd thing was reception was only open limited hours.Highly recommended.read more
Sally-Anne Richter
Sally-Anne Richter
2017-09-01T18:39:44+0000
Great hostel. We were walking the Great Glen Way and its location is ideal. Kitchen is well set up, basic but yummy... breakfast in the morning, good dining room with free tea/coffee/hot chocolate. Good lights and power points over bed. No lockers seen but we didn't need them as we had locks on our cases. Hot shower with good water pressure. Beautiful location with own private beach on Loch Ness where you can swim or play music if you Brave the midgies! �read more
Sylvia Ishmirel
Sylvia Ishmirel
2017-08-29T16:52:18+0000
Un lugar muy amigable con vistas al Lago Ness desde las habitaciones y el muy cómodo y espacioso living comedor. Me... encantó!read more
Joanna Żmuda-Siryk
Joanna Żmuda-Siryk
2017-08-26T09:42:29+0000
Bori Kiss
Bori Kiss
2017-07-16T09:37:17+0000
We've spent three nights in the hostel, and it is safe to say, that this was the highlight of our already amazing... Highland trip! The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, the whole hostel is super clean. We are definitely going back.read more
Virginia Mazzini
Virginia Mazzini
2017-07-11T20:04:58+0000
Flo Sa
Flo Sa
2017-07-05T23:30:51+0000
You'll get a very beautiful view at the Lake with direct access to the water :)The Staff (Bruce) was very kind and... helpful, the Lounge ist comfortable too and the view is stunning!read more
Isa Obser
Isa Obser
2017-07-03T23:23:40+0000
Lena Rose
Lena Rose
2017-06-01T00:19:08+0000
Awesome staff and killer view!!!! Doesn't even feel like you're in a hostel.
Martin Schneid
Martin Schneid
2017-04-27T10:04:19+0000
Just great!!Die Adresse am Loch Ness: ruhig, fantastische Aussicht, alles neu, super Atmosphäre und klasse Leute,... zudem noch ziemlich günstig^^read more
Kitty van Blerk
Kitty van Blerk
2016-09-15T21:38:04+0000
David Gabán Corrales
David Gabán Corrales
2016-08-28T08:45:43+0000
Next Reviews

Andrew McClements (Watches and Whisky) on Google

5/5

Where do I start. Rob (Wee Bobby) was a very welcoming host and was non stop entertainment throughout my stay. Janneke with the imaginary bike was also brilliant and has an infectious laugh. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Powerful and clean showers too! Great social space with free pool table and a well equipped kitchen. Enjoyed a dip in the water on the stone beach (even if I only got knee deep) followed by a fire by the water. Would recommend this place for solo travelers as the staff/volunteers are all so friendly as were the other guests. Thanks for a memorable few days 😊

Rosie Ann on Google

5/5

By far the best hostel I’ve ever stayed in. Access to the loch is literally on your doorstep. The staff are so friendly and the common room is great for meeting new people. The dorm, showers and toilets were clean and the bed was really comfy for a hostel. There are loads of scenic walks from the hostel and Inverness isn’t too far to drive for some great food and drink places. Had a lot of fun roasting marshmallows by the fire and paddleboarding on the loch too. The highlands is a truly wonderful place and staying on Loch Ness takes this to the next level.

Rhys Jones on Google

5/5

Stayed here one night of my NC500 trip. Comfortable bed, warm showers with decent water pressure, comfortable lounge. They even have their own little “lochside beach” which is nice to take a walk down to and relax. I didn’t brave the swim at 5 degrees all year 🥶
There was a strong smell of bonfire in and around the place, but with a log chopping station at the edge of the car park I assume there are fires on the lochside for a bit of warmth.
Service was great too, he was happy to answer any questions and offer suggestions on what to do nearby.
Kitchen is well stocked and ingredients are available to buy from reception. But there is a free food box in the kitchen to help yourself to.
Breakfast is 3.50 for cereals, pastrys and fruit, but I’d recommend heading down to Urquhart Castle for a bacon roll.